Brodsky Family Northwestern JD/MBA Fund Presents SEC Chairman Harvey L. Pitt

April 04, 2002

SEC Chairman Harvey Pitt Securities and Exchange Commission Chairman Harvey L. Pitt delivered the first Brodsky Family Northwestern JD/MBA Lecture at 5:30 p.m. April 4 in Lincoln Hall at the Law School.

The address was sponsored jointly by Northwestern University School of Law and the Kellogg School of Management with the support of the Brodsky Family Northwestern JD/MBA Fund. Text of the lecture is available on the SEC website.

The fund was established by William and Joan Brodsky (pictured below) to honor their children, Northwestern graduates Michael B. Brodsky, JD/MBA (1994), Stephen A. Brodsky, JD/MBA (1997), Jonathan P. Brodsky, JD/MBA (2000), Elizabeth Klein Brodsky, MBA (1996) and Aleta Margolis, MSEd (1991). The Brodsky fund supports the joint JD/MBA program offered by Northwestern University School of Law and the J. L. Kellogg School of Management.

Through the JD/MBA program, students receive a thorough grounding in management and law. Every graduate has at least several years of full-time work experience as well as a well-defined career plan that incorporates both degrees, enabling them to pursue a wide range of career opportunities in both the legal and business fields.

On August 3, 2001, President Bush appointed Harvey L. Pitt as the 26th chairman of the SEC. Pitt previously served as an attorney on the staff of the commission (1968 -1978) and as general counsel (1975-1978). Before rejoining the commission, Pitt was in the private practice of law. He also was a founding trustee and the president of the SEC Historical Society and participated in a wide variety of bar and continuing legal education activities to further public consideration of significant securities law issues.

He received a juris doctorate from St. John's University School of Law in 1968 and a bachelor's degree from the City University of New York (Brooklyn College) in 1965. The JD/MBA program offered by Northwestern University is the only three-year joint degree program of any major university.

  • Categories: