Julius H. Miner Moot Court Competition

Julius H. Miner Moot Court Competition

A Tribute to the Honorable Julius H. Miner

Julius Howard Miner arrived in Chicago from Russia during his early childhood. He attended Kent College of Law, and received an LLB degree. He was admitted to the Illinois Bar in 1917.

Never satisfied that he had learned all that he could about the law, Judge Miner attended post-graduate classes at Northwestern University School of Law while presiding as a Cook County Circuit Court Judge. In 1945, he earned a Master of Laws degree from Northwestern.

In 1958, President Dwight Eisenhower appointed Judge Miner to the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois. At the time of his death in 1963 Judge Miner was working on a Ph.D. thesis.

We are extremely grateful to the entire Miner family for their continued support of this competition.

Past Miner Moot Court Champions (pdf)

Past Problems and Sample Briefs 


Register to participate in the 2022 Julius H. Miner Moot Court!

Sign-ups for the 2022 Miner Moot Court Competition open October 15, 2021, and close at 11:59 PM on January 16, 2022.

Judge Information

The 2022 Miner Moot Court Competition will follow all local, state, and federal COVID guidelines as well as Law School COVID policy to facilitate this year’s competition. More information is forthcoming. 


The briefs are due at the end of each team’s chosen two-week drafting period. All submissions should be emailed directly to both Nicholas Bottcher and Kristi Lew

The preliminary rounds of this year's competition will take place on:

  • February 3
  • February 7
  • February 15
  • Round of 4, February 17

The elimination rounds will take place as follows:

  • Octo Final, February 21
  • Quarter finals, February 24
  • Semi finals, February 28

The final round will take place Friday, March 4 at 3:30 p.m.
Rules (pdf)


For questions about participating as an alumni judge, please e-mail our Dominique Gilbert and Henry Zhu

For all other questions, please e-mail Nicholas Bottcher and Kristi Lew.